Preparing for Love

It never really occurred for me that I would need to prepare for love.  I’ve never had any trouble attracting men into my life.  Up until my last relationship ended, I had been a serial monogamist (moving from committed relationship to committed relationship, which includes a 7-year marriage) — for nearly 20 years. But looking at how those relationships turned out (ending in disappointment each and every time) and how I’ve now been single since May, 2009, I find myself wondering, “WHAT is UP?”

Can you relate?

I wouldn’t be surprised if you can — a lot of us have been discouraged when it comes to finding love – men and women alike.  And it’s been really confusing trying to figure it out.

We tell ourselves, “All the good ones are taken,” or “Women are too needy,” or “Men don’t want a smart, successful woman like me,” or the reason we’ve all told ourselves at one time or another, “I just haven’t met the right person.”

All reasons that are completely outside of our power to control.

And yet, with all of our analysis and conclusions on why love has eluded us, the truth is that we still want love so very badly.

We never really give up hope.  Yet, if you’re like me, at one time or another, you might have begun to wonder if perhaps happy, healthy love may just not be in the cards for you in this lifetime.

I completely understand the pain around wanting love and yet wondering if it’s even possible for you — if the person you’re looking for even exists. Or if maybe you’re just too messed-up from your childhood to ever get it right.

I coach people on this sense of possibility – and I strongly hold space for them, knowing that love IS possible for them. But I’m realizing that I haven’t been holding that space for me.

As if I am somehow the one person in the world for whom love just isn’t possible. Hah! Yes, I am the ONE person out of 7.05 BILLION people in the world who can’t have love. Yes, I’m wondering what’s up with that.

And just after I have that thought, Emily beckons me

~

I’m happy to say though that after working through “Preparing for Love” (Session 1) in the Calling in “The One” course, I am already experiencing significant breakthroughs that are helping me overcome this sense of non-possibility I’m writing about. I am beginning to realize that the happy, healthy love I so desire is of course possible for me.

One of the reasons I decided to create this blog is that I’ve been so inspired that I found myself wishing others could share in this profound experience, too. Because I know how much you long for love in your life, just as I do.

I will be sharing with you my own experience as a student of this process, because I want to do everything I can to help you find love.

My promise to you is that I’m going to be sharing transparently, vulnerably and authentically about what’s happening for me.  The good, the bad, the ugly!

Stay tuned for more sharing from the first session – it’s coming soon! And it’s going to get juicy.

PS. For all the men I’ve loved before: Yes, I may indeed write about you.  However, I’ll never reveal your name. That’s a promise. (If you’ve been holding your breath, you can go ahead and release it.)

One thought on “Preparing for Love

Leave a Reply

